bibliophile, blog, Book, Book Reviews, bookish, books, goodreads, read, reading, tbr

Hunted 

Synopsis: Where do I begin with Hunted? The short answer is that it’s a twist on Beauty and the Beast. Beauty is a girl who used to hunt with her father until he realized that she needed to be brought I to society like her sisters. While she gets used to doing these new activities, her heart belongs someplace else and is still wanting for a world that she doesn’t even know is real. When her father loses his money and they have to move, Beauty gets her chance again to be in the wilderness. But as the days go on, her father disappears and it’s up to Beauty to find him. But once she enters the woods, she finds not her father but a Beast with a curse looking for a hunter to break her from it. 

IMG_20170721_202335_848

Review: There are a lot of reasons why I was excited for this book:

  1. It’s based on Beauty and the Beast which is to this day why I want a library in my house
  2. The cover was gorgeous
  3. Honestly the opening of here’s to the girls seen below was inspiring.

Based on goodreads reviews, I might be the only one who didn’t like Hunted. I’m not saying that I hated it and I’m not saying that it was an interesting twist on Beauty and the Beast it’s just that it wasn’t for me. I couldn’t really feel for any of the characters in the sense of really rooting for them. And also, can we have a female lead that doesn’t shoot a bow? For me I would like to see someone with a different skill set. I also wasn’t a huge fan of how the Beast’s point of view was portrayed, a one page “diary” entry here and there wasn’t enough for me. Neither was why these two characters would want to help each other.
Now it wasn’t all bad, I liked that there were sisters with some ccomplicated lives and I liked the idea of the curse and how Beauty is wanting something she’s not sure she truly understands. Something that all of us feel from time to time. By the end, she goes through a transformation that I don’t think she was prepared for.

My favorite character was probably Doe-eyes the dog  who really brings some comic relief to the story but other than that I couldn’t really say that I liked any other part of it. To be honest, I already swapped it out.

As always click on the picture and it will bring you to more info!

2 thoughts on “Hunted ”

Leave a Reply

