bibliophile, blog, Book, Book Reviews, books, goodreads, read, reading, tbr

July Book Haul

Well, I said I wasn’t going to get any more books for awhile, that didn’t last very long. I received so many books in July that I was hoping you guys could help me figure out which ones I should read first.

20170731_174206

A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue I’ve heard a lot of really good things about this one. I mean it’s historical fiction about travel, diversity and Europe. When I saw that Owlcrate had this in their book box for the month of July I was really excited.

After You This one has been on my list for a really long time. I really enjoyed Me Before You and have been wanting to get around to reading what Louisa’s life would be like without Will. I was lucky to pick this up at a library bookstore.

The Disappearances I actually have no desire to read this one and I’m really sad about it. Which means I’m really hoping one of you have read it and can tell me if it’s worth it. I received this in the Bookishbox July box, the theme was supposed to be about witches etc so I’m disappointed in the choice. Though there is supposed to be mystery, something I don’t really read so maybe it will be good.

B as in Beirut Here’s a little personal background that you don’t know about me. I have ancestors from Lebanon so whenever I see a book about Lebanon or the Middle East in general, I have to pick it up and buy. When I saw this one at the library bookstore I knew I was going to buy it without even reading the back. PS — it’s about four women living in the same apartment building during the Lebanese Civil War — sign me up, this might be one of the first ones I read of this list.

Girl in Translation Honestly, this one was chosen based off the cover. It’s about a girl and her mother who emigrate from Hong Kong to Brooklyn. During the day Kimberly (the daughter) goes to school and at night she works i a sweat shop. This is her story.

The Lovely Bones This is another one that I’ve heard a lot of people talk about, I just hadn’t picked it up. It’s the story about a girl who is murdered, she recounts that murder and what happened. At the same time, her family is dealing with the devastation of losing her.

I’m Not Scared Set in Italy, 9 year old Michele discovers a secret and has to decide what to do with this secret. This was given to me by my aunt to read, she thought I would like it.

Have you read any of these? If so, what did you think? I could really use your help in choosing which ones to read in the next couple of months!

4 thoughts on “July Book Haul”

  1. I have reviews on my blog on both After You and Girl in Translation! I’d both recommend them, really. Girl in Translation wasn’t my usual read, but I ended up loving it nonetheless.

    Haven’t read A Gentleman’s Guide to Vice and Virtue yet, but it’s on my TBR. Heard many good things about it already so definitely looking forward to reading that one myself, haha.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

